Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1128. நெஞ்சத்தார் காத லவராக

1128. Nenjaththaar Kaatha Lavaraaga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    காதற் சிறப்புரைத்தல் (Kaathar Sirappuraiththal)
    Declaration of Love's Special Excellence
  • குறள்
    நெஞ்சத்தார் காத லவராக வெய்துண்டல்
    அஞ்சுதும் வேபாக் கறிந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    என் காதலர் நெஞ்சுள்ளே இருக்கின்றாராதலால், சூடான உணவை உண்பதற்கு அஞ்சுவேன்; அந்தச் சூடு அவரைச் சுடும் என்று அறிந்து உண்பதில்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Within my heart my lover dwells; from food I turn
    That smacks of heat, lest he should feel it burn.
  • Meaning
    As my lover is in my heart, I am afraid of eating (anything) hot, for I know it would pain him.


Post a Comment