Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1070. கரப்பவர்க்கு யாங்கொளிக்கும் கொல்லோ

1070. Karappavarkku Yaankolikkum Kollo

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    இரவச்சம் (Iravachcham)
    The Dread of Mendicancy
  • குறள்
    கரப்பவர்க்கு யாங்கொளிக்கும் கொல்லோ இரப்பவர்
    சொல்லாடப் போஒம் உயிர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இரப்பவனுக்கு ஒன்றை இரக்கும்போதே உயிர் போன்றதே! உள்ள பொருளை இல்லை என்று மறைக்கும் ஒளிப்பவர்க்கு உயிர் எங்கே சென்று ஒளிக்குமோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    E'en as he asks, the shamefaced asker dies;
    Where shall his spirit hide who help denies?
  • Meaning
    Saying "No" to a beggar takes away his life. (but as that very word will kill the refuser) where then would the latter's life hide itself ?


Post a Comment