Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0848. ஏவவும் செய்கலான் தான்தேறான்

0848. Yevavum Seigalaan Thaantheraan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    ஏவவும் செய்கலான் தான்தேறான் அவ்வுயிர்
    போஒம் அளவுமோர் நோய்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அற்ப அறிவுடையவன் உறுதியானவற்றை அறிவுடையோர் சொன்னாலும் செய்யமாட்டான்; தானாகவும் அறிய வேண்டியவற்றை அறிய மாட்டான்; உயிர் உடலைவிட்டு நீங்கும் வரையில் நிலத்துக்கு ஒரு நோயாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Advised, he heeds not; of himself knows nothing wise;
    This man's whole life is all one plague until he dies.
  • Meaning
    The fool will not perform (his duties) even when advised nor ascertain them himself; such a soul is a burden (to the earth) till it departs (from the body).


Post a Comment