Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0849. காணாதான் காட்டுவான் தான்காணான்

0849. Kaanaathaan Kaattuvaan Thaankaanaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    காணாதான் காட்டுவான் தான்காணான் காணாதான்
    கண்டானாம் தான்கண்ட வாறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவில்லாதவனை அறிவுடையவனாக்க முயல்வோன், தானே அறிவில்லாதவனாவான்; அவ்வறிவில்லாதவன், தான் அறிந்த வகையில் அறிந்தவனாய் விளங்குவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    That man is blind to eyes that will not see who knowledge shows;-
    The blind man still in his blind fashion knows.
  • Meaning
    One who would teach a fool will (simply) betray his folly; and the fool would (still) think himself "wise in his own conceit".


Post a Comment