Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0844. வெண்மை எனப்படுவ தியாதெனின்

0844. Venmai Enappaduva Thiyaathenil

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    வெண்மை எனப்படுவ தியாதெனின் ஒண்மை
    உடையம்யாம் என்னும் செருக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    புல்லறிவு எனப்படுவது எது என்றால், 'நாம் விளக்கமாகிய அறிவுடையேம்' என்று ஒருவன் தன்னைத்தானே மதிக்கும் அகங்காரம்.
  • Translation
    in English
    What is stupidity? The arrogance that cries,
    'Behold, we claim the glory of the wise.'
  • Meaning
    What is called want of wisdom is the vanity which says, "We are wise".


Post a Comment