Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0843. அறிவிலார் தாந்தம்மைப் பீழிக்கும்

0843. Arivilaar Thaanthammaip Peezhikkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    அறிவிலார் தாந்தம்மைப் பீழிக்கும் பீழை
    செறுவார்க்கும் செய்தல் அரிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவில்லாதவர் தாமே தமக்குச் செய்து கொள்ளும் தீமையைப் பகைவராலும் அவருக்குச் செய்ய முடியாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    With keener anguish foolish men their own hearts wring,
    Than aught that even malice of their foes can bring.
  • Meaning
    The suffering that fools inflict upon themselves is hardly possible even to foes.


Post a Comment