Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0834. ஓதி உணர்ந்தும் பிறர்க்குரைத்தும்

0834. Oothi Unarndhum Pirarkkuraiththum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பேதைமை (Pethaimai)
  • குறள்
    ஓதி உணர்ந்தும் பிறர்க்குரைத்தும் தானடங்காப்
    பேதையின் பேதையார் இல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நூல்களைக் கற்று அறிந்தும், அறிந்தவற்றைப் பிறர்க்கு எடுத்துக் கூறியும், தான் கற்றபடி அடங்கி நடவாத அறிவில்லாதவன்போல் அறிவில்லாதவன் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    The sacred law he reads and learns, to other men expounds,-
    Himself obeys not; where can greater fool be found?
  • Meaning
    There are no greater fools than he who, though he has read and understood (a great deal) and even taught it to others, does not walk according to his own teaching.


Post a Comment