Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0835. ஒருமைச் செயலாற்றும் பேதை

0835. Orumaich Cheyalaatrum Pethai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பேதைமை (Pethaimai)
  • குறள்
    ஒருமைச் செயலாற்றும் பேதை எழுமையும்
    தான்புக் கழுந்தும் அளறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    வரும் ஏழு பிறப்புகளிலும் தான் சென்று வருந்தும் துன்பத்தை, அறியாமையுடையவன் இந்த ஒரு பிறப்பிலேயே செய்து கொள்ள வல்லவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The fool will merit hell in one brief life on earth,
    In which he entering sinks through sevenfold round of birth.
  • Meaning
    A fool can procure in a single birth a hell into which he may enter and suffer through all the seven births.


Post a Comment