Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0711. அவையறிநது ஆராய்ந்து சொல்லுக

0711. Avaiyarindhu Aaraindhu Solluga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவை அறிதல் (Avai Arithal)
    The Knowledge of the Council Chamber
  • குறள்
    அவையறிநது ஆராய்ந்து சொல்லுக சொல்லின்
    தொகையறிந்த தூய்மை யவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    சொற்களைப் பயன்படுத்தத் தெரிந்த தூய குணமுடையவர், தாம் சொல்லும்போது அவையை அறிந்து ஆராய்ந்து சொல்வாராக.
  • Translation
    in English
    Men pure in heart, who know of words the varied force,
    Should to their audience known adapt their well-arranged discourse.
  • Meaning
    Let the pure who know the arrangement of words speak with deliberation after ascertaining (the nature of) the court (then assembled).


Post a Comment