Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0604. குடிமடிந்து குற்றம் பெருகும்

0604. Kudimadinthu Kutram Perugum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    மடி இன்மை (Madi Inmai)
  • குறள்
    குடிமடிந்து குற்றம் பெருகும் மடிமடிந்து
    மாண்ட உஞற்றி லவர்க்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    சோம்பலில் வீழ்தலால் சிறந்த முயற்ச்சியை மேற்கொள்ளாதவர்களுக்குக் குடியும் கெட்டுக் குற்றங்களும் அதிகமாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    His family decays, and faults unheeded thrive,
    Who, sunk in sloth, for noble objects doth not strive.
  • Meaning
    Family (greatness) will be destroyed, and faults will increase, in those men who give way to laziness, and put forth no dignified exertions.


Post a Comment