Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0605. நெடுநீர் மறவி மடிதுயில்

0605. Neduneer Maravi Madithuyil

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    மடி இன்மை (Madi Inmai)
  • குறள்
    நெடுநீர் மறவி மடிதுயில் நான்கும்
    கெடுநீரார் காமக் கலன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    விரைந்து செய்யவேண்டியதைக் காலம் நீடித்துச் செய்யும் இயல்பும், மறதியும், சோம்பலும், உறக்கமும் ஆகிய இந்நான்கும், அழிந்து போகும் இயல்பினையுடையவர் விரும்பி ஏறும் மரக்கலமாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Delay, oblivion, sloth, and sleep: these four
    Are pleasure-boat to bear the doomed to ruin's shore.
  • Meaning
    Procrastination, forgetfulness, idleness, and sleep, these four things, form the vessel which is desired by those destined to destruction.


Post a Comment