Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0603. மடிமடிக் கொண்டொழுகும் பேதை

0603. Madimadik Kondozhugum Pethai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    மடி இன்மை (Madi Inmai)
  • குறள்
    மடிமடிக் கொண்டொழுகும் பேதை பிறந்த
    குடிமடியும் தன்னினும் முந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    நீக்கத் தக்க சோம்பலைத் தன்னுள்ளே கொண்டு நடக்கும் அறிவில்லாதவன் பிறந்த குடி, அவன் அழிவதற்கு முன்பே அழிந்துபோகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who fosters indolence within his breast, the silly elf!
    The house from which he springs shall perish ere himself.
  • Meaning
    The (lustre of the) family of the ignorant man, who acts under the influence of destructive laziness will perish, even before he is dead.


Post a Comment