Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0559. முறைகோடி மன்னவன் செய்யின்

0559. Muraikodi Mannavan Seiyyin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கொடுங்கோன்மை (Kodungonmai)
    The Cruel Sceptre
  • குறள்
    முறைகோடி மன்னவன் செய்யின் உறைகோடி
    ஒல்லாது வானம் பெயல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மன்னன் நீதிமுறை தவறி நாட்டை ஆண்டால், பருவ மழை தவற, மேகம் மழை பெய்யாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Where king from right deflecting, makes unrighteous gain,
    The seasons change, the clouds pour down no rain.
  • Meaning
    If the king acts contrary to justice, rain will become unseasonable, and the heavens will withhold their showers.


Post a Comment