Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0558. இன்மையின் இன்னாது உடைமை

0558. Inmaiyin Innaathu Udaimai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கொடுங்கோன்மை (Kodungonmai)
    The Cruel Sceptre
  • குறள்
    இன்மையின் இன்னாது உடைமை முறைசெய்யா
    மன்னவன் கோற்கீழ்ப் படின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நீதி செய்யாத மன்னவனின் கொடுங்கோலின் கீழிருந்து வாழ்வோர்க்கு வறுமையைக் காட்டிலும் பொருளுடைமை மிக்க துன்பம் தருவதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To poverty it adds a sharper sting,
    To live beneath the sway of unjust king.
  • Meaning
    Property gives more sorrow than poverty, to those who live under the sceptre of a king without justice.


Post a Comment