Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0535. முன்னுறக் காவாது இழுக்கியான்

0535. Munnurak Kaavaathu Izhukkiyaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொச்சாவாமை (Pochaavaamai)
  • குறள்
    முன்னுறக் காவாது இழுக்கியான் தன்பிழை
    பின்னூறு இரங்கி விடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    முற்பட்டு வரக்கூடிய துன்பங்களை வராமல் காக்காது மறந்திருந்தவன், பின்னர்த் துன்பம் வந்தபொழுது தன் பிழையை நினைத்து வருந்துவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To him who nought foresees, recks not of anything,
    The after woe shall sure repentance bring.
  • Meaning
    The thoughtless man, who provides not against the calamities that may happen, will afterwards repent for his fault.


Post a Comment