Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0534. அச்ச முடையார்க்கு அரணில்லை

0534. Achcha Mudaiyaarkku Aranillai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொச்சாவாமை (Pochaavaamai)
  • குறள்
    அச்ச முடையார்க்கு அரணில்லை ஆங்கில்லை
    பொச்சாப் புடையார்க்கு நன்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனத்தில் அச்சம் உடையவர்க்குக் காடு, மலை முதலிய காவல்கள் இருந்தும் பயனில்லை. அதுபோல், மறதி உடையவர்க்கு நன்மையும் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    'To cowards is no fort's defence'; e'en so
    The self-oblivious men no blessing know.
  • Meaning
    Just as the coward has no defence (by whatever fortifications ha may be surrounded), so the thoughtless has no good (whatever advantages he may possess).


Post a Comment