Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0533. பொச்சாப்பார்க் கில்லை புகழ்மை

0533. Pochchaappaark Killai Pugazhmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொச்சாவாமை (Pochaavaamai)
  • குறள்
    பொச்சாப்பார்க் கில்லை புகழ்மை அதுஉலகத்து
    எப்பால்நூ லோர்க்கும் துணிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மறதி உடையவர்க்குப் புகழ் இல்லை. அவ்வாறு புகழ் இல்லை என்பது, உலகத்திலுள்ள எத்தகைய நூற்கொள்கையுடையவர்க்கும் ஒப்ப முடிந்த முடிபாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'To self-oblivious men no praise'; this rule
    Decisive wisdom sums of every school.
  • Meaning
    Thoughtlessness will never acquire fame; and this tenet is upheld by all treatises in the world.


Post a Comment