Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0509. தேறற்க யாரையும் தேராது

0509. Therarka Yaaraiyum Theraathu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    தேறற்க யாரையும் தேராது தேர்ந்தபின்
    தேறுக தேறும் பொருள்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நன்றாக ஆராயாமல் யாரையும் தெளிதல் கூடாது. ஆராய்ந்து தெளிந்த பின்னர் அவரிடம் எந்தச் செயலைப் பற்றி ஆராய்ந்து தெளியலாமோ அதைப் பற்றி ஆராய்ந்து தெளிய வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Trust no man whom you have not fully tried,
    When tested, in his prudence proved confide.
  • Meaning
    Let (a king) choose no one without previous consideration; after he has made his choice, let him unhesitatingly select for each such duties as are appropriate.


Post a Comment