Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0508. தேரான் பிறனைத் தெளிந்தான்

0508. Theraan Piranaith Thelindhaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    தேரான் பிறனைத் தெளிந்தான் வழிமுறை
    தீரா இடும்பை தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அயலான் ஒருவனைச் சிறிதும் ஆராயாமல் அவன் மீது நம்பிக்கை வைக்கும் ஒருவனால் அவன் துன்பப்படுவதல்லாமல் அவன் சந்ததியினரும் துன்பத்தை அனுபவிக்க நேரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who trusts an untried stranger, brings disgrace,
    Remediless, on all his race.
  • Meaning
    Sorrow that will not leave even his posterity will come upon him chooses a stranger whose character he has not known.


Post a Comment