Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0510. தேரான் தெளிவும் தெளிந்தான்கண்

0510. Theraan Thelivum Thelindhaankan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    தேரான் தெளிவும் தெளிந்தான்கண் ஐயுறவும்
    தீரா இடும்பை தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவனை ஆராயாது தெளிதலும் ஆராய்ந்து தெளிந்தவனிடம் ஐயப்படுதலும் ஆகிய இவ்விரண்டும் அரசனுக்கு நீங்காத துன்பத்தைக் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Trust where you have not tried, doubt of a friend to feel,
    Once trusted, wounds inflict that nought can heal.
  • Meaning
    To make choice of one who has not been examined, and to entertain doubts respecting one who has been chosen, will produce irremediable sorrow.


Post a Comment