Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0507. காதன்மை கந்தா அறிவறியார்த்

0507. Kaathanmai Kandhaa Arivariyaarth

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    காதன்மை கந்தா அறிவறியார்த் தேறுதல்
    பேதைமை எல்லாந் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவில்லாதவனை அவனிடத்துள்ள அன்பு காரணமாகத் தேர்ந்தெடுத்தல், அரசனுக்கு எல்லா அறியாமையையும் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    By fond affection led who trusts in men of unwise soul,
    Yields all his being up to folly's blind control.
  • Meaning
    To choose ignorant men, through partiality, is the height of folly.


Post a Comment