Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0506. அற்றாரைத் தேறுதல் ஓம்புக

0506. Atraaraith Theruthal Ombuga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    அற்றாரைத் தேறுதல் ஓம்புக மற்றவர்
    பற்றிலர் நாணார் பழி.
  • விளக்கம்
    சுற்றம் இல்லாதவரை நம்புதல் ஆகாது. ஏனென்றால், அவர் வேறு சம்பந்தமில்லாதவர், ஆதலால் பழிக்கு அஞ்ச மாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Beware of trusting men who have no kith of kin;
    No bonds restrain such men, no shame deters from sin.
  • Meaning
    Let (a king) avoid choosing men who have no relations; such men have no attachment, and thereforehave no fear of crime.


Post a Comment