Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0505. பெருமைக்கும் ஏனைச் சிறுமைக்கும்

0505. Perumaikkum Yenaich Chirumaikkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    பெருமைக்கும் ஏனைச் சிறுமைக்கும் தத்தம்
    கருமமே கட்டளைக் கல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மக்களின் பெருமையை அறிவதற்கும் அவர்தம் சிறுமையை அறிவதற்கும் அவரவர் செய்யும் செயல்களே உரைகல்லாம்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Of greatness and of meanness too,
    The deeds of each are touchstone true.
  • Meaning
    A man's deeds are the touchstone of his greatness and littleness.


Post a Comment