Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0464. தெளிவி லதனைத் தொடங்கார்

0464. Thelivi Lathanaith Thodangaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து செயல்வகை (Therindhu Seyalvagai)
    Acting After Due Consideration
  • குறள்
    தெளிவி லதனைத் தொடங்கார் இளிவென்னும்
    ஏதப்பாடு அஞ்சு பவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தமக்கு இழிவாகிய குற்றம் உண்டாகும் என்று அஞ்சுகின்றவர் நன்மை தரும் என்று தெளிவாக அறியாத செயலைச் செய்யத் தொடங்கமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    A work of which the issue is not clear,
    Begin not they reproachful scorn who fear.
  • Meaning
    Those who fear reproach will not commence anything which has not been (thoroughly considered) and made clear to them.


Post a Comment