Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0463. ஆக்கம் கருதி முதலிழக்கும்

0463. Aakkam Karuthi Muthalizhakkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து செயல்வகை (Therindhu Seyalvagai)
    Acting After Due Consideration
  • குறள்
    ஆக்கம் கருதி முதலிழக்கும் செய்வினை
    ஊக்கார் அறிவுடை யார்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இலாபத்தைக் கருதி, முதலையும் இழப்பதற்குக் காரணமான செயலை அறிவுடையோர் மேற்கொள்ள மாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To risk one's all and lose, aiming at added gain,
    Is rash affair, from which the wise abstain.
  • Meaning
    Wise men will not, in the hopes of profit, undertake works that will consume their principal.


Post a Comment