Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0446. தக்கா ரினத்தனாய்த் தானொழுக

0446. Thakkaa Rinaththanaaith Thaanozhuga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெரியாரைத் துணைக்கோடல் (Periyaaraith Thunaikkodal)
    Seeking the Aid of Great Men
  • குறள்
    தக்கா ரினத்தனாய்த் தானொழுக வல்லானைச்
    செற்றார் செயக்கிடந்த தில்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தகுதியுடைய பெரியோர் இனத்தைச் சேர்ந்து நடக்க வல்லவனாயின், அம்மன்னனுக்குப் பகைவர் செய்யக் கூடிய துன்பம் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    The king, who knows to live with worthy men allied,
    Has nought to fear from any foeman's pride.
  • Meaning
    There will be nothing left for enemies to do, against him who has the power of acting (so as to secure) the fellowship of worthy men.


Post a Comment