Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0447. இடிக்குந் துணையாரை யாள்வரை

0447. Idikkundh Thunaiyaarai Yaalvarai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெரியாரைத் துணைக்கோடல் (Periyaaraith Thunaikkodal)
    Seeking the Aid of Great Men
  • குறள்
    இடிக்குந் துணையாரை யாள்வரை யாரே
    கெடுக்குந் தகைமை யவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தவறு கண்டவிடத்துக் கடிந்து கூறும் தகுதியுடையவரைத் தமக்குத் துணையாகக் கொண்டு வாழ்பவரைக் கெடுக்கும் தன்மையுடையவர் யாவர்?
  • Translation
    in English
    What power can work his fall, who faithful ministers
    Employs, that thunder out reproaches when he errs.
  • Meaning
    Who are great enough to destroy him who has servants that have power to rebuke him ?


Post a Comment