Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0445. சூழ்வார்கண் ணாக ஒழுகலான்

0445. Soozhvaarkan Naaga Ozhugalaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெரியாரைத் துணைக்கோடல் (Periyaaraith Thunaikkodal)
    Seeking the Aid of Great Men
  • குறள்
    சூழ்வார்கண் ணாக ஒழுகலான் மன்னவன்
    சூழ்வாரைக் சூழ்ந்து கொளல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அரசன் அமைச்சரைக் கண்ணாகக் கொண்டு ஆட்சி நடத்தலால், அத்தகைய அமைச்சரை ஆராய்ந்து தனக்குத் துணையாகக் கொள்ளுதல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The king, since counsellors are monarch's eyes,
    Should counsellors select with counsel wise.
  • Meaning
    As a king must use his ministers as eyes (in managing his kingdom), let him well examine their character and qualifications before he engages them.


Post a Comment