Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0429. எதிரதாக் காக்கும் அறிவினார்க்

0429. Ethirathaak Kaakkum Arivinaark

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    அறிவுடைமை (Arivudaimai)
    The Possession of King
  • குறள்
    எதிரதாக் காக்கும் அறிவினார்க் கில்லை
    அதிர வருவதோர் நோய்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பின் வரக்கூடியதை முன்னதாக அறிந்து, காக்க வல்ல அறிவுடையோர்க்கு, அவர் நடுங்கும்படி வருவதாகிய துன்பம் எதுவும் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    The wise with watchful soul who coming ills foresee;
    From coming evil's dreaded shock are free.
  • Meaning
    No terrifying calamity will happen to the wise, who (foresee) and guard against coming evils.


Post a Comment