Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0424. எண்பொருள வாகச் செலச்சொல்லித்

0424. Enporula Vaagach Chelachchollith

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    அறிவுடைமை (Arivudaimai)
    The Possession of King
  • குறள்
    எண்பொருள வாகச் செலச்சொல்லித் தான்பிறர்வாய்
    நுண்பொருள் காண்ப தறிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    கேட்பவருக்கு எளிதில் விளங்கும் பொருளுடையதாகவும் அவர் மனம் கொள்ளும்படியாகவும் கூறிப் பிறர் கூறும் சொற்களில் மறைந்திருக்கும் நுண்பொருளைக் காண்பது அறிவாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Wisdom hath use of lucid speech, words that acceptance win,
    And subtle sense of other men's discourse takes in.
  • Meaning
    To speak so as that the meaning may easily enter the mind of the hearer, and to discern the subtlest thought which may lie hidden in the words of others, this is wisdom.


Post a Comment