Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0423. எப்பொருள் யார்யார்வாய்க் கேட்பினும்

0423. Epporul Yaryarvaaik Ketpinum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    அறிவுடைமை (Arivudaimai)
    The Possession of King
  • குறள்
    எப்பொருள் யார்யார்வாய்க் கேட்பினும் அப்பொருள்
    மெய்ப்பொருள் காண்ப தறிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எப்பொருளை எந்தகையோர் சொல்லக் கேட்டாலும், அப்பொருளின் உண்மைப் பொருளைக் காண்பதுதான் அறிவாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though things diverse from divers sages' lips we learn,
    'Tis wisdom's part in each the true thing to discern.
  • Meaning
    To discern the truth in every thing, by whomsoever spoken, is wisdom.


Post a Comment