Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0422. சென்ற இடத்தால் செலவிடா

0422. Sendra Idaththaal Selavidaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    அறிவுடைமை (Arivudaimai)
    The Possession of King
  • குறள்
    சென்ற இடத்தால் செலவிடா தீதொரீஇ
    நன்றின்பால் உய்ப்ப தறிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனத்தைச் சென்ற வழியே செல்லவிடாது, நன்மை தீமைகளை ஆராய்ந்து தீமையிலிருந்து நீக்கி, நல்வழியில் செலுத்துவது அறிவு.
  • Translation
    in English
    Wisdom restrains, nor suffers mind to wander where it would;
    From every evil calls it back, and guides in way of good.
  • Meaning
    Not to permit the mind to go where it lists, to keep it from evil, and to employ it in good, this is wisdom.


Post a Comment