Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0384. அறனிழுக்கா தல்லவை நீக்கி

0384. Aranizhukkaa Thallaavai Neekki

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    இறைமாட்சி (Iraimaatchi)
    The Greatness of a King
  • குறள்
    அறனிழுக்கா தல்லவை நீக்கி மறனிழுக்கா
    மானம் உடைய தரசு.
  • விளக்கம்
    நீதி, நெறியில் தவறாது நின்று, குற்றங்களைப் போக்கி, வீரத்தில் குறையாத பெருமையுடையவன் சிறந்த அரசனாவன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Kingship, in virtue failing not, all vice restrains,
    In courage failing not, it honour's grace maintains.
  • Meaning
    He is a king who, with manly modesty, swerves not from virtue, and refrains from vice.


Post a Comment