Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0369. இன்பம் இடையறா தீண்டும்

0369. Inbam Idaiyaraa Theendum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவா அறுத்தல் (Avaa Aruththal)
    The Extirpation of Desire
  • குறள்
    இன்பம் இடையறா தீண்டும் அவாவென்னும்
    துன்பத்துள் துன்பங் கெடின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அவா என்று சொல்லப்படுகின்ற துன்பங்களுள் மிகுந்த துன்பமானது கெடுமானால், இவ்வுலகத்திலும் இன்பம் இடையறாது வரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    When dies away desire, that woe of woes
    Ev'n here the soul unceasing rapture knows.
  • Meaning
    Even while in this body, joy will never depart (from the mind, in which) desire, that sorrow of sorrows, has been destroyed.


Post a Comment