Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0305. தன்னைத்தான் காக்கின் சினங்காக்க

0305. Thannaiththaan Kaakkin Sinankaakka

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    தன்னைத்தான் காக்கின் சினங்காக்க காவாக்கால்
    தன்னையே கொல்லுஞ் சினம்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் தன்னைத்தானே காத்துக்கொள்ள வேண்டும் என்று விரும்பினால், தன்மனத்தில் சினம் வராமல் காத்தல் வேண்டும்; அவ்வாறு காக்கவில்லை என்றால் அச்சினம் அவனைக் கெடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If thou would'st guard thyself, guard against wrath alway;
    'Gainst wrath who guards not, him his wrath shall slay.
  • Meaning
    If a man would guard himself, let him guard against anger; if he do not guard it, anger will kill him.


Post a Comment