Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0304. நகையும் உவகையும் கொல்லும்

0304. Nagaiyum Uvagaiyum Kollum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    நகையும் உவகையும் கொல்லும் சினத்தின்
    பகையும் உளவோ பிற.
  • விளக்கம்
    முகமலர்ச்சியையும் மகிழ்ச்சியையும் கெடுத்து எழுகின்ற சினத்தை விட ஒருவனுக்கு வேறு பகை உண்டோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    Wrath robs the face of smiles, the heart of joy,
    What other foe to man works such annoy?
  • Meaning
    Is there a greater enemy than anger, which kills both laughter and joy?


Post a Comment