Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0303. மறத்தல் வெகுளியை யார்மாட்டும்

0303. Maraththal Veguliyai Yaarmaattum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    மறத்தல் வெகுளியை யார்மாட்டும் தீய
    பிறத்தல் அதனான் வரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எவரிடத்தும் சினம் கொள்ளுதலை மறந்து விடுதல் வேண்டும். அச்சினத்தால் தீங்கு பயக்கும் செயல் உண்டாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If any rouse thy wrath, the trespass straight forget;
    For wrath an endless train of evils will beget.
  • Meaning
    Forget anger towards every one, as fountains of evil spring from it.


Post a Comment