Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0298. புறள்தூய்மை நீரான் அமையும்

0298. Puralthooimai Neeraan Amaiyum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    புறள்தூய்மை நீரான் அமையும் அகந்தூய்மை
    வாய்மையால் காணப் படும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    உடலின் வெளித் தூய்மை நீராடுவதால் உண்டாகும்; மனத் தூய்மை உண்மை பேசுவதால் உண்டாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Outward purity the water will bestow;
    Inward purity from truth alone will flow.
  • Meaning
    Purity of body is produced by water and purity of mind by truthfulness.


Post a Comment