Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0297. பொய்யாமை பொய்யாமை ஆற்றின்

0297. Poiyaamai Poiyaamai Aatrin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    பொய்யாமை பொய்யாமை ஆற்றின் அறம்பிற
    செய்யாமை செய்யாமை நன்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் பொய் பெசாமையாகிய அறத்தை இடைவிடாமல் எப்பொழுதும் செய்து வந்தால், அவன் மற்ற அறங்களைச் செய்ய வேண்டியதில்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    If all your life be utter truth, the truth alone,
    'Tis well, though other virtuous acts be left undone.
  • Meaning
    If a man has the power to abstain from falsehood, it will be well with him, even though he practise no other virtue.


Post a Comment