Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0299. எல்லா விளக்கும் விளக்கல்ல

0299. Ellaa Vilakkum Vilakkalla

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    எல்லா விளக்கும் விளக்கல்ல சான்றோர்க்குப்
    பொய்யா விளக்கே விளக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    புற இருளைப் போக்கும் விளக்குகளெல்லாம் விளக்குகள் ஆகா; குணத்தால் நிறைந்தவருக்கு மன இருள் போக்கும் பொய் பேசாமையாகிய விளக்கே சிறந்த விளக்கு ஆகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Every lamp is not a lamp in wise men's sight;
    That's the lamp with truth's pure radiance bright.
  • Meaning
    All lamps of nature are not lamps; the lamp of truth is the lamp of the wise.


Post a Comment