Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0296. பொய்யாமை அன்ன புகழில்லை

0296. Poiyaamai Anna Pugazhillai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    பொய்யாமை அன்ன புகழில்லை எய்யாமை
    எல்லா அறமுந் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவனுக்குப் பொய் பேசாமலிருப்பது போல் புகழுக்குக் காரணம் வேறு எதுவும் இல்லை; அஃது அவன் வருந்தாமல் இருக்க எல்லா நலன்களையும் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    No praise like that of words from falsehood free;
    This every virtue yields spontaneously.
  • Meaning
    There is no praise like the praise of never uttering a falsehood: without causing any suffering, it will
    lead to every virtue.


Post a Comment