Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0295. மனத்தொடு வாய்மை மொழியின்

0295. Manaththodu Vaaimai Mozhiyin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    மனத்தொடு வாய்மை மொழியின் தவத்தொடு
    தானஞ்செய் வாரின் தலை.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் மனமார உண்மை சொல்வானானால், அவன் தவத்தோடு அறத்தையும் செய்பவரை விடச் சிறந்தவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Greater is he who speaks the truth with full consenting mind.
    Than men whose lives have penitence and charity combined.
  • Meaning
    He, who speaks truth with all his heart, is superior to those who make gifts and practise austerities.


Post a Comment