Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0294. உள்ளத்தாற் பொய்யா தொழுகின்

0294. Ullaththaar Poiyaa Thozhugin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    உள்ளத்தாற் பொய்யா தொழுகின் உலகத்தார்
    உள்ளத்து ளெல்லாம் உளன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனத்தினால் பொய்யை நினைக்காமல் நடப்பவன், உலகத்தவர் மனத்திலெல்லாம் நிலைத்திருப்பான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    True to his inmost soul who lives,- enshrined
    He lives in souls of all mankind.
  • Meaning
    He who, in his conduct, preserves a mind free from deceit, will dwell in the minds of all men.


Post a Comment