Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0289. அளவல்ல செய்தாங்கே வீவர்

0289. Alavalla Seithaange Veevar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Absence of Fraud
  • குறள்
    அளவல்ல செய்தாங்கே வீவர் களவல்ல
    மற்றைய தேற்றா தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    களவைத் தவிர வேறு எதையும் அறியாதவர், அளவு கடந்த தீமைகளைச் செய்து, அப்பொழுதே கெடுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who have no lore save that which fraudful arts supply,
    Acts of unmeasured vice committing straightway die.
  • Meaning
    Those, who are acquainted with nothing but fraud, will perish in the very commission of transgression.


Post a Comment