Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0288. அளவறிந்தார் நெஞ்சத் தறம்போல

0288. Alavarindhaar Nenjath Tharampola

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Absence of Fraud
  • குறள்
    அளவறிந்தார் நெஞ்சத் தறம்போல நிற்கும்
    களவறிந்தார் நெஞ்சில் கரவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பொருளின் தன்மைகளை ஆராய்ந்து அறிந்தவரது நெஞ்சில் அறம் நிலை பெற்றிருப்பதுபோல், களவை அறிந்தவரின் மனத்தில் வஞ்சனை நிலை பெற்றிருக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    As virtue dwells in heart that 'measured wisdom' gains;
    Deceit in hearts of fraudful men established reigns.
  • Meaning
    Deceit dwells in the mind of those who are conversant with fraud, even as virtue in the minds of those who are conversant with rectitude.


Post a Comment