Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0287. களவென்னும் காரறி வாண்மை

0287. Kalavennum Kaarari Vaanmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Absence of Fraud
  • குறள்
    களவென்னும் காரறி வாண்மை அளவென்னும்
    ஆற்றல் புரிந்தார்கண்ட இல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தனக்குரிய அளவில் நிற்றல் என்னும் பெருமையை விரும்புகின்றவனிடத்தில், களவு என்னும் இருண்ட மயக்க அறிவு இருக்காது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Practice of fraud's dark cunning arts they shun,
    Who long for power by 'measured wisdom' won.
  • Meaning
    That black-knowledge which is called fraud, is not in those who desire that greatness which is called rectitude.


Post a Comment