Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0286. அளவின்கண் நின்றொழுகல் ஆற்றார்

0286. Alavinkan Nindrozhugal Aatraar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Absence of Fraud
  • குறள்
    அளவின்கண் நின்றொழுகல் ஆற்றார் களவின்கண்
    கன்றிய காத லவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    களவில் அதிக ஆசையுள்ளவர், தாம் நடப்பதற்குரிய அளவில் நின்று அதற்கேற்ப நடக்கமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    They cannot walk restrained in wisdom's measured bound,
    In whom inveterate lust of fraudful gain is found.
  • Meaning
    They cannot walk steadfastly, according to rule, who eagerly desire to defraud others.


Post a Comment