Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0207. எனைப்பகை யுற்றாரும் உய்வர்

0207. Enaippagai Yutraarum Uivar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    தீவினையச்சம் (Theevinaiyachcham)
    Dread of Devil Deeds
  • குறள்
    எனைப்பகை யுற்றாரும் உய்வர் வினைப்பகை
    வீயாது பின்சென்று அடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எவ்வளவு பெரிய பகையைப் பெற்றவரும் அப்பகையிலிருந்து தப்புவர்; ஆனால், தீயவை செய்வதால் வரும் தீவினையாகிய பகை ஒருவனை விடாது தொடர்ந்து கொள்ளும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    From every enmity incurred there is to 'scape, a way;
    The wrath of evil deeds will dog men's steps, and slay.
  • Meaning
    However great be the enmity men have incurred they may still live. The enmity of sin will incessantly pursue and kill.


Post a Comment