Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0173. சிற்றின்பம் வெஃகி அறனல்ல

0173. Sitrinbam Vekki Aranalla

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெஃகாமை (Vekkaamai)
    Not Coveting
  • குறள்
    சிற்றின்பம் வெஃகி அறனல்ல செய்யாரே
    மற்றின்பம் வேண்டு பவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நிலையான இன்பத்தை விரும்புகின்றவர்கள், நிலையில்லாத இன்பத்தை விரும்பி அறமல்லாத செயல்களைச் செய்ய மாட்டார்கள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    No deeds of ill, misled by base desire,
    Do they, whose souls to other joys aspire.
  • Meaning
    Those who desire the higher pleasures (of heaven) will not act unjustly through desire of the trifling joy (in this life.)


Post a Comment