Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0174. இலமென்று வெஃகுதல் செய்யார்

0174. Ilamendru Vekkuthal Seiyaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெஃகாமை (Vekkaamai)
    Not Coveting
  • குறள்
    இலமென்று வெஃகுதல் செய்யார் புலம்வென்ற
    புன்மையில் காட்சி யவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஐம்புலன்களையும் வென்ற குற்றமில்லாத அறிவுடையோர், தாம் வறியவர் என நினைத்து, அதைத் தீர்க்கப் பிறர் பொருளை விரும்பார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Men who have conquered sense, with sight from sordid vision freed,
    Desire not other's goods, e'en in the hour of sorest need.
  • Meaning
    The wise who have conquered their senses and are free from crime, will not covet (the things of others), with the thought "we are destitute."


Post a Comment